Bounce the Ocean was formed in Seattle, Washington on the US west coast in the early 1990s by Hawk Björn, originally from Sweden, and John Utter, a Washingtonian, also of Scandinavian heritage. They initially caught the attention of Hollywood film producers Rick Stevenson and Robert Redford who included several songs in a Patrick Dempsey/Jennifer Connelly movie called “Some Girls” MGM 1989.

Hawk and John went on to record their self titled debut album released worldwide in 1992 by Private Music/BMG. Mainly recorded in Seattle and LA, the record is heavily focused on vocal harmonies and melodic pop songs. Produced by Grammy Award-winning Steve Berlin and Michael Omartian with help from Glen Ballard, the album yielded a Billboard-charting single in “Throw It All Away” and a significant radio hit in Argentina with “Wasting My Time”, selling over a quarter-million copies.

In 2023, Bounce the Ocean is back with a collection of never-before-released mixes of favorite bounce the ocean songs including “It Just Gets Better” and “Wasting My Time” as well as unheard demos featuring legendary Andrew Gold (“Thank You for Being a Friend”) and a never before heard track, “First I’ll Take You” – a snappy danceable powerpop song featuring world-renowned drummer Kenny Aronoff (John Cougar Mellencamp), Neil Stubenhaus on bass, Randy Waldman’s blistering grand piano solo and Jerry Hey’s classic horn section, produced by Grammy Award-winning musician and songwriter, Clif Magness.

Thanks for supporting and enjoying our music all these years!   Find your own “Treasure” at your favorite streaming service or digital store here.   

Hawk Bjorn 2023 All Rights Reserved